Gjyaana Dhaara : Learning; Understanding; Realization

Posted: January 1, 2015 in education, inspiring, philosophy, sanatana dharma


Gjyaana dhaara (flow of knowledge),  the traditional Indian methodology practiced by scholars towards acquiring knowledge constituted three hierarchical stages namely: shravanam (learning), mananam (understanding) and nidhidhyasanam (realization).

shravanam (श्रवणम् ):  This is the learning stage. Traditionally it is listening to the scriptures from the guru (teacher). “shravanam” translates to “listening”. But in modern day, it could be listening or reading. So, this stage involved knowing about a new concept through reading or listening.

mananam (मननम् ): This is the understanding stage. Through questioning and reasoning we try to understand what we have read/listened in the shravanam stage.

nidhidhyasanam (निधिध्यासनम् ) :  This is the realization stage. Sitting in isolation, meditating deeply on the concept that we internalized through shravanam and mananam so as to find the inner truth behind the concept. nidhidhyasanam always leads us to righteousness, innovations and creativity.

  1. Appreciate this post. Let mee try it out.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s